Geoffrey Doig-Marx

Educator, Choreographer, Director, Mentor, Artist, Illustrator, Writer, Mentor, CEO, Alchemist, Renaissance Man

Geoffrey Doig-Marx
Named one of  “Nine Dancemakers Making History” 
 …Cover Story Dance Spirit Magazine
 Geoffrey Doig-Marx (GDM)- currently a member of the faculty at Marymount Manhattan College (18 …

Read the full story »
Home » News, Performances, The Elan Awards

The 2005 Elan Awards

The 2005 Elan Awards
Geoffrey Doig-Marx, Bruce Robert Harris, and
Dance Spirit Magazine

The 2005 Elan Awards

Honoring Choreographer

Susan Stroman

With Special Performance by Guest Company


SUSAN STROMAN -Director/Choreographer Ms. Stroman directed and choreographed The Producers, winner of a record-making 12 Tony Awards including Best Direction and Best Choreography. Most recently, Ms. Stroman directed and choreographed The Frogs for Lincoln Center, with music by Stephen Sondheim and a new book by Nathan Lane. She co-created, directed and choreographed the groundbreaking musical Contact for Lincoln Center Theater, winning the 2000 Tony Award for Best Choreography, as well as Drama Desk, Outer Critics’ Circle and Lucille Lortel Awards and a 2003 Emmy Award for Live at Lincoln Center.

Other Broadway credits include Oklahoma!, Thou Shalt Not, The Music Man (Outer Critics’ Circle Award), Crazy for You (Tony, Drama Desk, Outer Critics’ Circle, Olivier Awards), Showboat (Tony, Outer Critics’ Circle Awards), Big, Steel Pier and Picnic. Off-Broadway productions include And The World Goes ‘Round (Outer Critics’ Circle Award) and Flora the Red Menace. She choreographed Madison Square Garden’s annual spectacular event A Christmas Carol (Outer Critics’ Circle Award), directed by Mike Ockrent. For New York City Opera: Don Giovanni, A Little Night Music and 110 in the Shade. Ms. Stroman created Double Feature, a full-length ballet for New York City Ballet featuring the music of Irving Berlin and Walter Donaldson. She has created the ballets Blossom Got Kissed for New York City Ballet’s 50th Anniversary season and But Not For Me for the Martha Graham Company.

Her choreography received an Emmy nomination for the HBO presentation Liza – Stepping Out at Radio City Music Hall, starring Liza Minnelli. Other TV credits include An Evening with the Boston Pops – a Tribute to Leonard Bernstein and co-conceiver/choreographer for PBS’s Sondheim – a Celebration at Carnegie Hall. She received the American Choreography Award for her work in Columbia Pictures feature film Center Stage. She is the recipient of a record four Astaire Awards. Next, Ms. Stroman will direct and choreograph the feature film The Producers: The Movie Musical.


The 2005 Elan Awards Choreographers are:
  • Nina Buisson
  • Lauren Putty
  • Bradley Shelver
  • Tracie Stanfield
  • Danielle Genest
  • Caron Eule
  • Dee Caspary
  • Geoffrey Doig-Marx
  • Rebecca Kelly
  • Jeff Amsden
  • Graham Lustig
  • Rhonda Miller

2005 Elan Awards Gallery

2005 Elan Awards Sponsors