Geoffrey Doig-Marx

Educator, Choreographer, Director, Mentor, Artist, Illustrator, Writer, Mentor, CEO, Alchemist, Renaissance Man

Geoffrey Doig-Marx
Named one of  “Nine Dancemakers Making History” 
 …Cover Story Dance Spirit Magazine
 Geoffrey Doig-Marx (GDM)- currently a member of the faculty at Marymount Manhattan College (18 …

Read the full story »
Home » The Elan Awards

The 2002 Elan Awards

The 2002 Elan Awards
Geoffrey Doig-Marx, Bruce Robert Harris, and
Dance Spirit Magazine

The 2002 Elan Awards

Honoring Choreographer

Ann Reinking

With Special Guests

Sandy Duncan
Stephanie Pope
The Original Cast of Chicago

Ann Reinking-is the director, co-conceiver and co-choreographer of FOSSE,winner of the 1999 Tony for Best Musical. Ms. Reinking, with Bob Fosse, is the winner of the 2001 Olivier Award for Best Theatre Choreographer for the London production of FOSSE. She also won the 1997 Tony for her choreography of Chicago, as well as the drama desk, Outer Critics Circle, Astaire and New York Drama Critics Awards. She received a Tony nomination as Best Actress in Goodtime Charley and won the Theater World, Clarence Derwent and Outer Critics Circle Award for her work as Maggie in Over Here. Her film credits include, Movie Movie; All That Jazz; Annie: and Mickie and Maude.

Recent choreography credits include Suite Kander for Missouri State Ballet; Ritmo Y Ruido for Ballet Hispanico; Legends for Joffrey Ballet of Chicago; Threepenny Opera and tonight at 8:30 (director and choreographer) for Williamstown Theatre Festival; Nilsson/Schmillson for Seattle’s Spectrum Dance Theatre; Bye Bye Birdie for ABC-TV; and the National Tour of the revival of Applause. Upcoming: Bacharach Project (choreographer) for The Roundabout Theatre, Broadway and the visit. Ms. Reinking is the founder and Artistic Director of The Broadway Theatre Project in Tampa Florida. She is the recipient of an honorary doctorate from Florida State University (2001), The Drama League Award for Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre (1999), Musical Hall of Fame Award (1999), Dance Library of Israel Award (1998), Distinguished Artist Award (1998), School of American Ballet Artistic Achievement Award (1997), National Artists Club Award for Service to the Arts (1995), and the Governor’s award, Ambassador of the Arts for the State of Florida.

The 2002 Elan Awards Choreographers are:
  • Caroline Liadakis
  • David Marquez
  • Rhonda Miller
  • Nina Buisson
  • with Yosuke Takahashi
  • Tracie Stanfield
  • Leah Kreutzer
  • Chase Brock
  • Geoffrey Doig-Marx
  • Lonne Morretton
  • Jacob Brent
  • Vanessa Villain and
  • Michelle Van Doeren

2002 Elan Awards Gallery

2002 Elan Awards Sponsors